2017
2018
2019
2020
ByronShelleyGoguen
Basho
Voltaire

更新




蒙古 - 非常适合Atala和Cardano试点

多位部长和众多企业对区块链满怀热忱

想到蒙古,浮现在你脑海中的情景可能是草原、山脉、寒冷的冬天和游牧民族。大家不太可能将它与突破性技术联系到一起,但实际上,蒙古是一个非常适合实施区块链试点的国家。

2019年5月16日 | Charles Hoskinson

Cardano 2020年:实现愿景

新推出的路线图、产品展示和定期更新将突出显示进展

Cardano正处于激动人心的转型阶段。长期以来,此项目一直将深思熟虑的产品愿景与研究驱动的规范和基于证据的开发流程相结合。除了继续秉承这种严谨的精神,目前我们正在迈向一个新的发展阶段,全力交付世界首创的全新功能。项目逐渐开始接受现实的检验。

2019年5月7日 | David Esser

Hundreds attend the IOHK Summit 2019 in Miami(数百人参加迈阿密举行的2019年IOHK峰会- 只有英文版)

新产品、Cardano进展和行业问题现场聚焦

本月,各国政府部长、行业专业人士和Cardano粉丝们参加了在迈阿密举行的2019年IOHK峰会,怀着激动的心情听到IOHK首席执行官Charles Hoskinson概述了Cardano的未来,并推出了为企业提供的新产品Atala。

2019年4月29日 | Amy Reeve

New Shelley formal specifications complete(新的Shelley形式化规范完成- 只有英文版)

委托和奖励的形式化规范已发布

Cardano Shelley时期的目标是将完全去中心化引入Cardano,从而超越联合网络时代并通过权益池将分类账的控制权移交给社区。

2019年4月16日 | Philipp Kant


Cardano reaches development milestone(Cardano达成发展里程碑- 只有英文版)

随着Shelley工作的进展,工程师们对Byron阶段进行了总结

Cardano 1.5的发布标志着从Cardano Byron时期转向Shelley时期的开始,这是描述Shelley正在进行的工作以及转变将如何发生的绝佳机会。

2019年3月22日 | Duncan Coutts

How we use Nix at IOHK(我们如何在IOHK上使用Nix- 只有英文版)

IOHK能够把重大研究付诸实践由来已久。这包括使用函数式编程语言和形式化方法,当然,还有在区块链共识算法中实施我们自己同行评审研究。

2019年2月6日 | Rodney Lorrimar




Cardano is secure against fake stake attacks(Cardano可抵御假冒权益攻击- 只有英文版)

目前很多区块链项目使用的权益证明都存在缺陷,而经过同行评审的我们的设计,意味着Ouroboros不存在这些缺陷

美国研究人员上周鉴定出了26种容易遭受"虚假权益"攻击的加密货币,而ADA不在此列。Cardano区块链基于权益证明(PoS),但其Ouroboros协议却不使用比特币代码,因此不受PoSv3问题的影响。这不仅仅是出于好运,而是因为我们在Cardano开发过程中采取的周密的形式化验证方法带来的结果。

2019年1月29日 | Philipp Kant






Backwards-incompatible changes in Cardano 1.4 Wallet API(Cardano 1.4钱包API中的向后不兼容更改- 只有英文版)

Matthias Benkort和Jacob Mitchell介绍了新增特性

在这篇博客中,钱包API负责人Matthias Benkort解释了Cardano 1.4中的向后兼容Cardano钱包API涉及的一些变更,而devOps主管Jacob Mitchell展示了如何使用旧的V0钱包API和新的V1钱包API构建Cardano客户端,而不是仅仅提供新API的默认选项。

2018年12月18日 | Matthias Benkort

Launching Plutus and Marlowe at the inaugural PlutusFest(在首届PlutusFest上发布Plutus和Marlowe- 只有英文版)

IOHK面向开发人员和融资者的全新智能合约工具

上周,IOHK在爱丁堡大学举办了首届PlutusFest。IOHK团队的成员从世界各地飞来,一些感兴趣的学者、开发人员、融资者和媒体成员也参加了会议。

2018年12月17日 | Amy Reeve

Smart contracts language for Cardano launches at PlutusFest(在PlutusFest上发布面向Cardano的智能合约语言- 只有英文版)

Plutus平台由世界领先的团队开发

今天,IOHK发布了Plutus平台,这是一种面向Cardano区块链的智能合约语言。您可以通过Plutus平台在线试用Plutus,无需下载或安装任何软件。Plutus平台是开源的。您可以在这里找到代码、文档和来源。

2018年12月11日 | Philip Wadler

Marlowe: financial contracts on blockchain(Marlowe:区块链上的金融合约- 只有英文版)

第一台计算机是用"机器代码"编程的。每种类型的系统都有不同的代码,这些代码的级别很低且没有意义:程序是非常简单的超长指令序列,对于没有编写它们的人来说是不可压缩的。如今,我们能够使用C、Java和Haskell等高级语言来编程系统。相同的语言可以在各种不同的机器上使用,程序的结构反映了它们的作用;在区块链上,它们的等价物是像Solidity和Simplicity这样的语言。这些现代高级语言是通用的 - 它们可以用来解决各种不同的问题 - 但它们表示的解决方案仍然是程序,仍需要编程技巧才能有效地使用它们。

2018年12月11日 | Simon Thompson





Stake pools in Cardano(Cardano中的权益池- 只有英文版)

IOHK的首席科学家介绍了挖矿情况

在权益证明(PoS)区块链协议中,分类账由在该分类账中持有资产的利益相关者维护。与工作量证明(PoW)或其他类型的区块链协议相比,这将允许PoS区块链使用更少的能量。然而,这种要求给利益相关者带来了负担。它要求有大量利益相关者在线并保持足够稳定的网络连接,以便他们可以收集交易并使其PoS区块到达其他网络而不会出现大量网络延迟。因此,任何PoS分类账都将受益于持有权益并专注于维护的可靠服务器节点。

2018年10月23日 | Aggelos Kiayias

Ouroboros Genesis presented at flagship conference(Ouroboros Genesis在旗舰大会上亮相- 只有英文版) e

IOHK在多伦多的CCS上发表对权益证明的研究

昨天,在一项领先的计算机安全和密码学活动上,来自Ouroboros系列研究的第三篇重要论文正式发表,展示了这项工作对计算机科学领域做出的贡献。

2018年10月18日 | Jane Wild



IOHK releases Icarus to the Cardano community(IOHK在Cardano社区发布Icarus- 只有英文版)

开发人员现在可以构建自己的轻钱包

今天,IOHK发布了Icarus,这是由IOHK工程团队开发的一种轻量级钱包的参考实现。我们希望将此代码库用作参考,以使开发人员能够为Cardano创建自己的安全轻钱包和移动钱包。Icarus是一个完全开源的代码库,它将成为一系列开源计划的第一步,为开发人员提供一套适用于的Cardano工具。

2018年8月15日 | Brian McKenna


Cardano in focus at major international event(Cardano成为重大国际盛会的焦点- 只有英文版)

智能合约技术作为计算机科学创新广受关注

作为第三代区块链,Cardano采用了最先进的技术,吸引了世界各地计算机科学家的兴趣。在过去的一年里,描述Cardano的共识算法的论文已经在领先的密码学会议上发表;而本月,其智能合约技术将成为人们关注的焦点。

2018年7月11日 | Jeremy Wood

Ouroboros Praos presented at leading cryptography conference, Eurocrypt(Ouroboros Praos在领先的密码学会议Eurocrypt(欧洲密码学年会)上发表- 只有英文版)

权益证明协议提供与比特币相同的安全保障

在区块链研究领域,权益证明长期以来一直给密码学家提出了许多问题,而这一主题在过去两年里对于研究人员来说至关重要。IOHK的首席科学家Aggelos Kiayias教授领导了一个密码学家团队,正式确定了称为Ouroboros的一系列协议。值得注意的是,他们的论文描述的协议被最重要的加密领域活动Crypto 2017接受,而另一篇论文则于本月在姐妹活动Eurocrypt上发表。

2018年5月17日 | Jane Wild

A Cardano technical talk in Hamburg(在汉堡举行的Cardano技术演讲- 只有英文版)

Philipp Kant和LarsBrünjes解释了激励措施、权益池和形式化方法

Cardano是一个在视觉、范围和设计上独一无二的项目,其世界一流的团队正在计算机科学的前沿工作。随着开发的进展,世界各地的人们每天都会与我们联系,他们希望了解更多信息,因此IOHK很高兴在近期首次前往德国,探讨Cardano。

2018年5月14日 | Jane Wild

Cardano 1.1.0 software update(Cardano 1.1.0软件更新- 只有英文版)

大量重要改进和修复已经为用户准备好

今天的软件更新是Cardano的第一个主要版本,因为主网已于9月底推出,开发团队已经完成了大量工作。

2018年3月7日 | Duncan Coutts

Cardano’s goals for Africa and the developing world(Cardano为非洲和发展中国家设定的目标- 只有英文版)

Charles Hoskinson在伦敦政治经济学院向众多观众发表演讲

伦敦政治经济学院与非洲有着悠久的友好交往历史。这所学校成立于1895年,即布尔战争爆发前四年,随后便进入了那个时代的争论。一些新独立的非洲国家的第一批领导人曾在伦敦政治经济学院学习,学校的进步和反帝国主义立场使其在反种族隔离运动中发挥了作用。

2018年2月24日 | Jane Wild

IOHK celebrates a successful Global Summit(IOHK庆祝全球峰会成功召开- 只有英文版)

Cardano的发展成为里斯本的焦点

今年1月,IOHK迎来了一个比往年更加忙碌的开局,因为除了所有常规研发工作外,几乎整个公司都前往里斯本参加了我们的最新会议。在这些为期一周的活动中,所有人聚集在一起推动项目的进展,紧张忙碌而且充满挑战 - 但它们也十分有趣,让人们可以面对面地交谈,坐下来吃饭,互相认识。

2018年2月14日 | Jeremy Wood

On the Ouroboros Design: How rigour and engineering are essential for critical infrastructure(关于Ouroboros设计:严谨性和工程设计对于关键基础架构的重要意义- 只有英文版)

Steemit网站上最近发表了一篇博客文章,针对Ouroboros提出了一些观点。这篇文章有几处事实不够准确。例如,据称Ouroboros论文中的"DPOS"代表"委托权益证明",而事实上,DPOS意味着"动态权益证明",即协议要求"2/3+"比例的各方是诚实的;而在现实中,它只需要多数人诚实,即遵循协议的各方所控制的权益超过总权益的一半。

2018年1月11日 | Aggelos Kiayias

What is our release strategy for Cardano?(Cardano的发布策略是什么?- 只有英文版)

IOHK工程师的全新开发方法将为用户提供诸多益处 s

自主网发布以来,IOHK的工程师们不仅开始计划下一个大版本Shelley的新功能,而且还在改进他们的工作方式。最大的变化是开发Cardano的团队将遵循新的发布周期,其中会更频繁地对实时软件进行更新。现在这是可行的,因为我们已经拥有Byron作为构建基础。这种方法将使社区受益,因为这意味着我们可以更快地向用户提供功能,而且还能提供其他优势,例如允许我们为代码设计非常详细的测试。目前已实施充分的计划来帮助团队转向这种方法,我们相信它会带来良好的结果。这篇博客文章阐述了幕后发生的事情。

2017年12月1日 | Jeremy Wood





Cardano marks its launch with Tokyo event(Cardano于东京的活动正式上线- 只有英文版)

数百名粉丝庆祝加密货币的光明未来

这项技术是两年多前在大阪的一家餐厅里构想出来的,从那时起,Cardano就已成为一种领先的加密货币。此项目汇集了一个来自世界各地的专家团队,已经产生了超过67,000行代码,并在亚洲及其他国家/地区拥有强大且不断发展的社区。在此过程中,Cardano为加密货币设定了新标准,其中包括同行评审和软件工程高保证方法等最佳实践。

2017年10月16日 | Jane Wild


Ouroboros at Crypto 2017(Crypto 2017上的Ouroboros- 只有英文版)

IOHK在旗舰活动中展示了第一种可证明安全的权益证明算法

开发一种安全的权益证明算法是加密货币面临的一大挑战,本周,针对这一问题提出的一种解决方案在加利福尼亚州引起了学术界的关注。

2017年8月24日 | Jane Wild

2017
2018
2019
2020
ByronShelleyGoguen
Basho
Voltaire

Updates




Mongolia - great for Atala and Cardano pilots

Ministers and businesses are enthusiastic about blockchain

Think about Mongolia and the image that’s likely to spring to mind is of sweeping grasslands, mountains, freezing winters and nomads. An unlikely place you might think for ground-breaking technology, but in fact it’s a great country to do blockchain pilots.

MAY 16, 2019 | Charles Hoskinson

Cardano 2020: delivering on the vision

New roadmap, product demos, and regular updates will highlight progress

Cardano is in an exciting transition stage. The project has long combined thoughtful product vision with research-driven specification and evidence-based development processes. Still committed to that rigor, we’re now making the jump to a new stage of development where first-ever-in-the-world new capabilities are delivered. The rubber is starting to hit the road.

MAY 7, 2019 | David Esser

Hundreds attend the IOHK Summit 2019 in Miami

New products, Cardano progress and industry issues in focus at event

Government ministers, industry professionals, and Cardano fans were at the IOHK Summit 2019 in Miami this month, excited to hear IOHK CEO Charles Hoskinson outline the future for Cardano and launch Atala, the company’s enterprise offering for business.

APRIL 29, 2019 | Amy Reeve

New Shelley formal specifications complete

Formal specifications for delegation and incentives published

The goal of the Cardano Shelley era is to bring full decentralization to Cardano, moving beyond the federated epoch and handing control of the ledger over to the community via stake pools.

APRIL 16, 2019 | Philipp Kant


Cardano reaches development milestone

Engineers conclude Byron phase as Shelley work progresses

The release of Cardano 1.5 marks the start of the shift from the Cardano Byron era to the Shelley era and is an excellent opportunity to describe the ongoing work for Shelley and how the transition will happen.

MARCH 22, 2019 | Duncan Coutts

How we use Nix at IOHK

IOHK has a history of putting great research into practice. This includes the use of functional programming languages, adoption of formal methods, and — of course — implementing our own peer-reviewed research into blockchain consensus algorithms.

FEBRUARY 06, 2019 | Rodney Lorrimar




Cardano is secure against fake stake attacks

Peer-reviewed design means Ouroboros is free from a flaw affecting many proof-of-stake blockchains

Ada is not among the 26 cryptocurrencies identified by US researchers last week as being vulnerable to ‘fake stake’ attacks. The Cardano blockchain underlying Ada is based on proof-of-stake (PoS), but its Ouroboros protocol uses no bitcoin code and is not affected by the PoSv3 problem. This is not just good luck, but a consequence of the thorough, formally-verified approach taken during Cardano’s development.

JANUARY 29, 2019 | Philipp Kant






Backwards-incompatible changes in Cardano 1.4 Wallet API

Matthias Benkort and Jacob Mitchell cover what's new

In this blog, wallet API lead Matthias Benkort explains backwards-incompatible Cardano wallet API changes that are coming in Cardano 1.4, and devOps lead Jacob Mitchell shows how to build a Cardano client with both the old V0 wallet API and the new V1 wallet API, instead of the default option providing only the new API.

DECEMBER 18, 2018 | Matthias Benkort

Launching Plutus and Marlowe at the inaugural PlutusFest

IOHK’s new smart contract tools for developers and financiers

Last week IOHK hosted the inaugural PlutusFest at the University of Edinburgh. Members of the IOHK team flew in from around the world, with interested academics, developers, financiers, and members of the press also in attendance.

DECEMBER 17, 2018 | Amy Reeve

Smart contracts language for Cardano launches at PlutusFest

Plutus Platform is developed by a world-leading team

Today IOHK releases Plutus Platform, a smart contracts language for the Cardano blockchain. You can try out Plutus online, with no need to download or install anything, via Plutus Playground. Plutus Platform is open source. You can find code, documentation, and sources here.

DECEMBER 11, 2018 | Philip Wadler

Marlowe: financial contracts on blockchain

The first computers were programmed in “machine code”. Each kind of system had a different code, and these codes were low-level and inexpressive: programs were long sequences of very simple instructions, incompressible to anyone who had not written them. Nowadays we are able to use higher-level languages like C, Java and Haskell to program systems. The same languages can be used on widely different machines, and the programs’ structures reflects what they do; on blockchain, their equivalents are languages like Solidity and Simplicity. These modern higher-level languages are general purpose – they can be used to solve all sorts of different problems – but the solutions they express are still programs, and they still require programming skills to use them effectively.

DECEMBER 11, 2018 | Simon Thompson





Stake pools in Cardano

IOHK’s chief scientist introduces staking

In a proof of stake (PoS) blockchain protocol, the ledger is maintained by the stakeholders that hold assets in that ledger. This allows PoS blockchains to use less energy compared with proof of work (PoW) or other types of blockchain protocols. Nevertheless, this requirement imposes a burden on stakeholders. It requires a good number of them to be online and maintain sufficiently good network connectivity that they can collect transactions and have their PoS blocks reach the others without substantial network delays. It follows that any PoS ledger would benefit from reliable server nodes that hold stake and focus on maintenance.

OCTOBER 23, 2018 | Aggelos Kiayias

Ouroboros Genesis presented at flagship conference

IOHK research on proof of stake appears at CCS in Toronto

A third major paper from the Ouroboros line of research was presented at a leading computer security and cryptography event yesterday, a recognition of the contribution the work makes to the field of computer science.

OCTOBER 18, 2018 | Jane Wild



IOHK releases Icarus to the Cardano community

Developers can now build their own light wallets

Today IOHK releases Icarus, a reference implementation for a lightweight wallet developed by the IOHK engineering team. We hope that this code base will be used as a point of reference to enable developers to create their own secure light and mobile wallets for Cardano. Icarus is a fully open source code base that will be the first step in a range of open source initiatives to provide developers with a suite of tools for Cardano.

AUGUST 15, 2018 | Brian McKenna


Cardano in focus at major international event

Smart contracts tech wins attention as computer science innovation

As a third-generation blockchain, Cardano incorporates state of-the-art technology that attracts the interest of computer scientists on the worldwide stage. In the past year, papers describing the consensus algorithm of Cardano have been presented at the leading cryptography conferences, and this month it was the turn of its smart contracts technology to be in the spotlight.

JULY 11, 2018 | Jeremy Wood

Ouroboros Praos presented at leading cryptography conference, Eurocrypt

Proof-of-stake protocol offers same security guarantees as Bitcoin

In the area of blockchain research proof of stake has long posed many questions for cryptographers and the subject has been of primary importance for IOHK researchers over the past two years. Professor Aggelos Kiayias, Chief Scientist at IOHK, has led work with a team of cryptographers to formalise a family of protocols called Ouroboros. It is a great distinction for their efforts that their paper describing the protocol was accepted to Crypto 2017, the foremost cryptographic event, and another paper was heard this month at sister event Eurocrypt.

MAY 17, 2018 | Jane Wild

A Cardano technical talk in Hamburg

Philipp Kant and Lars Brünjes explain incentives, stake pools and formal methods

Cardano is a project that is unique in its vision, scope and design, and its world-class team is working at the frontier of computer science. As development progresses we’re contacted on a daily basis by people from all around the world who want to learn more, and so IOHK was pleased to make its first trip to Germany recently to talk about Cardano.

MAY 14, 2018 | Jane Wild

Cardano 1.1.0 software update

A major package of improvements and fixes is ready for users

The software update today is the first major release for Cardano since the mainnet was launched at the end of September and it consists of a great deal of work from the development team.

MARCH 07, 2018 | Duncan Coutts

Cardano’s goals for Africa and the developing world

Charles Hoskinson addresses packed crowd at LSE

The London School of Economics has a long history of links to Africa. Founded in 1895 four years before the outbreak of the Boer War, the school launched into the debates of the era. Some of the first leaders of newly independent African nations studied at LSE and its progressive and anti-imperialist stance saw the school play a part in the anti-apartheid movement.

FEBRUARY 24, 2018 | Jane Wild

IOHK celebrates a successful Global Summit

Cardano development in focus at Lisbon

January got off to a busier start than normal for IOHK because on top of all the usual research and development being carried out, pretty much the entire company traveled to Lisbon for our latest meetup. These week-long events are always hectic and challenging – where everyone comes together to push forward work on projects - but they are also fun, allowing people to meet face to face, sit down over a meal, and get to know each other.

FEBRUARY 14, 2018 | Jeremy Wood

On the Ouroboros Design: How rigour and engineering are essential for critical infrastructure

A blog post on the Steemit website appeared recently making a number of claims regarding Ouroboros. The article contains several factual inaccuracies. For instance, it is claimed that “DPOS” in the Ouroboros paper stands for “delegated proof of stake”, while in fact, DPOS means “dynamic proof of stake”, or that the protocol requires a “2/3+” ratio of parties being honest, while in reality it just requires an honest majority, i.e. the stake controlled by parties following the protocol is more than half the total stake.

JANUARY 11, 2018 | Aggelos Kiayias

What is our release strategy for Cardano?

A new development approach from IOHK engineers will bring benefits to users

Since the release of mainnet, IOHK engineers have not only started work planning the new features of Shelley, the next big release, but have also been evolving the way they work. The biggest change is that the team developing Cardano will follow a new release cycle where updates are more regularly made to the live software. This is now possible because we have the foundation of Byron to build on. This approach will benefit the community because it means we can deliver features to users sooner, and also has other advantages, such as allowing us to design very detailed tests for the code. Considerable planning has been under way to help the team shift to this approach, and we are confident it will bring good results. This blog post explains what is happening behind the scenes.

DECEMBER 01, 2017 | Jeremy Wood





Cardano marks its launch with Tokyo event

Hundreds of fans celebrate bright future for the cryptocurrency

The technology was conceived in an Osaka restaurant more than two years ago and from that small beginning Cardano has been built into a leading cryptocurrency. The project has amassed a team of experts in countries around the world, has generated more than 67,000 lines of code, and has a strong and growing community in countries across Asia and beyond. Along the way, Cardano has set new standards for cryptocurrencies with best practices such as peer review and high assurance methods of software engineering.

OCTOBER 16, 2017 | Jane Wild


Ouroboros at Crypto 2017

IOHK presents first provably secure proof of stake algorithm at flagship event

Developing a secure proof of stake algorithm is one of the big challenges in cryptocurrency, and a proposed solution to this problem won the attention of the academic community this week in California.

AUGUST 24, 2017 | Jane Wild